Skip to main content

Table 3 Medical training institutions in Tanzania in 2015 (Source: TCU 2015)

From: Public private partnership in the training of doctors after the 1990s’ health sector reforms: the case of Tanzania

Name of institution Ownership Year
Muhimbili University of Health and Allied Sciences (MUHAS)a Public 1963
International Medical and Technological University (IMTU)a Private for-profit 1995
Hubert Kairuki Memorial University (HKMU)a Private for-profit 1997
Kilimanjaro Christian Medical University College (KCMUCo)a Private not-for-profit 1997
Catholic University of Health and Allied Sciences (CUHAS) a Private not-for-profit 2003
University of Dodoma (UDOM) Public 2007
St. Francis University College for Health and Allied Sciences (SFUCHAS)a Private not-for-profit 2010
Archbishop James University College (AJUCO) Private not-for-profit 2011
St. Joseph University College of Allied and Health Science (SJCAHS) Private not-for-profit 2011
Kampala International University Dar es Salaam (KIUD) Private for-profit 2013
University of Dar es Salaam (UDSM) – School of Health Sciences Public 2015
  1. aBy 2015, had produced at least one cohort of MD graduates